About the John Jeffries House Hotel
In the fall of 1824, Dr. John Jeffries and his colleague Dr. Edward Reynolds founded the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary, helping to treat impoverished Bostonians in a state-of-the-art free clinic. Over time, the hospital grew to become one of the world’s most renowned treatment centers for eye and ear care. As part of an expansion project in 1909, the hospital added a brick building on the corner of Charles and Cambridge streets to offer room and board for nurses and hospital staff.
After 75 years as a dormitory for the prestigious Beacon Hill hospital, the building was reconditioned in 1986 and transformed into the John Jeffries House, a 46-room bed and breakfast. In its transformation, architects maintained the original crown moldings, high ceilings and charming details, which continue to set it apart from the other boutique hotels in Boston. Over the years, John Jeffries House has continued to keep a close relationship with the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary, and remains the choice Beacon Hill Boston hotel for visiting nurses and hospital staff.